Cirencester Golf Club

Annual Prizegiving & Dinner

TOBY HARRIS’ status as the Player of the Year at Cirencester Golf Club was confirmed at the annual prizegiving and dinner.

It proved a much jollier occasion than might have been expected given the callous theft of the club’s trophies just two weeks previously. All prize winners received framed certificates as mementos of their successes.

Toby collected three awards having won his first Club Championship over 36 holes in the summer, the Scratch Cup knockout – in which he shot a gross 66 to take the final – and the Summer Four Ball title, which he and Steve Page successfully defended in 2018.

Toby also featured in the successful A team at the club which lost out in Division One of the North Gloucestershire Foursomes League only on points difference.

He made a gracious speech thanking all the organisers as well as bar, catering, office and greenkeeping staff – and gave a special mention to club pro Ed Goodwin who had this season given the multiple winner ‘my first lessons in years’.

It was also good to see Bob Hall return to the club for the occasion. Bob was a long-time junior organiser at Cirencester over the period in which Toby was junior captain in 2006.

New ladies’ captain Fiona Fyfe said: “I would like to thank Mark Johnson of Cirencester business Wall Space who read about the burglary at the club and gave us a generous deal on all the framing of the certificates, which were produced by Deb Chesworth of the ladies’ section.”

Certificates were presented on the night for the following competitions:

Bagendon Cup – Paul Daniel

Brian Oliver Trophy – Paul Loxton, Anthony Wilkinson, Andrew Dickson

Captain’s Trophy – Jonathan Wells

Centenary Putter – Chris Nevin, Tom Gavan, Jane Salter

Club Championship – Toby Harris

Committee Cup – Danny Hall

David Carroll Salver – Tom Waller

Ellett Cup – Tom Gavan

Gillman Salver – David Goodall & Jerry Homan-Green

Hospital Cup – Steve Bishop

IH Smith Foursomes – Sam Emery & Johan Pelser

Jubilee Cup – Mark Griffin

Queen Mother’s Shield – Phil Smith

Scratch Cup – Toby Harris

Summer 4 Ball – Toby Harris & Steve Page

Tovey Cup – Steve Bishop

Victory Cup – Jon Cowley

Victory Cup – Clive Gray


Bailey Cup – Kay Fullerton

Birthday Vase – Pam Mallinson

Bronze Cup – Joyce Hall

Ellett Cup – Kay Fullerton

Gatrell Goblets – Irena Windslow

Sprott Bowl – Sheila Westmacott

Victor Ludorum – Kate Dymoke

Annual General Meeting

ADAM COLLINS and Fiona Fyfe took over their respective posts as Men’s and Ladies’ captain for 2019 at the club’s AGM.

Ladies’ section

14-hole Texas Scramble

CIRENCESTER’S ladies played a 14-hole Texas Scramble on Thursday followed by their Christmas lunch.

The winning team comprised Brenda Smith, Muriel Telling & Liz Kidman who came in with a score of 51.1 points.

The runner-up spot went to Liz Allen, Barbara Grimwade & Kate Dymoke with 52.2.

Following the lunch, the ladies’ past captain Kate Dymoke presented a cheque for £5,865 to Anna Mason from Maggie's – her charity for 2018 which provides support to people with cancer along with their family and friends. The money was raised at a number of events throughout the season including Kate’s Charity Day.

Kate would like to give her thanks to everyone in the ladies’ section for their help and support.