SWINDON are SGB Premiership champions after an unforgettable night of high drama at Wolverhampton on Wednesday.

The Robins, who had topped the regular league table but faced a four-point deficit from the home leg of the Grand Final, won 47-42 at Monmore Green in a last-heat decider for the one-point aggregate win.

It was the first time in play-off history that a team had recovered from losing the first leg at home to take the ultimate prize.

Australian duo Nick Morris and Jason Doyle were the Heat 15 heroes as, requiring a shared race to clinch the title, they successfully achieved the 3-3 ahead of Wolves skipper Rory Schlein to spark wild celebrations among the travelling army of Robins supporters.

But it had been an all-round display of determination from Alun Rossiter’s side to claw their way back into the tie, remain in contention and then produce the big finish just when it was required.

SGB Premiership Grand Final, 2nd leg

WOLVES 42: Sam Masters 12, Rory Schlein 10+2, Kyle Howarth 8, Nathan Greaves 7, Chris Harris 4+2, Mark Riss 1, Jacob Thorssell r/r.

SWINDON 47: Jason Doyle 13+1, Nick Morris 11+1, David Bellego 4+1, Tobiasz Musielak 8, Adam Ellis 6+1, Bradley Wilson-Dean 5+2, Liam Carr 0.

Swindon win 90-89 on aggregate.

Full report to follow.