NORTH COTSWOLDS MP Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown has failed in his attempt to lead the 1922 Committee of backbench Conservative MPs. 

Bob Blackman will lead the 1922 Committee of backbench MPs after a vote last night, Tuesday. 

The Harrow East MP has taken over from Sir Graham Brady, who has been given a peerage, and will be tasked with setting the rules and timetable for the next leadership contest.

Mr Blackman won 61 of the 98 votes cast, against 37 for North Cotswolds MP Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown.

Former prime minister Rishi Sunak fired the starter pistol on a contest to replace him last week, when he announced he would “step down as party leader, not immediately, but once the formal arrangements” for choosing a replacement are in place.

Voting took place in the Houses of Parliament between 5pm and 5.30pm on Tuesday, but some MPs were told in an email they could vote until 6pm, the PA news agency understands.

In the early hours of Friday morning Conservative veteran Sir Geoffrey Clifton-Brown won the new North Cotswolds constituency - his ninth electoral victory since entering politics 31 years ago in 1992.

The 71-year-old won the constituency with 17,426 votes, while Liberal Democrat Paul Hodgkinson came second with 14,069 votes. 

The newly-created seat includes places like Bibury, Sapperton, Northleach, Moreton-in-Marsh, Stow-on-the-Wold, Bourton-on-the-Water, Chipping Campden, Birdlip, Brockworth, Churchdown and Shurdington.

It also includes parts of the Stroud area such as Standish, Slad, Edge, Painswick, Pitchcombe, Minchinhampton and Oakridge.