Boris Johnson has survived a confidence vote from Conservative MPs that challenged his leadership as Prime Minister.

The secret ballot took place between 6 pm and 8 pm on Monday with the final total being confirmed by 9 pm.

MPs voted 211 in favour of the PM and 148 against so Mr Johnson will not be ousted from his role.

Under current rules, now that Mr Johnson has won a confidence vote, he cannot be challenged again for 12 months.

Wilts and Gloucestershire Standard: Boris Johnson. Credit: PABoris Johnson. Credit: PA

Boris Johnson survives no-confidence vote from Tory MPs

The vote was triggered after 54 Tory MPs submitted letters of no confidence to the party's 1922 Committee.

It follows a steady stream of Tory MPs who publicly called for the Prime Minister to resign in the wake of Sue Gray’s report into breaches of the Covid regulations in No 10 and Whitehall.

No pictures were allowed to be taken inside the room during the confidence vote. 

This was an attempt to stop party whips from demanding evidence that MPs have supported the Prime Minister.

Wilts and Gloucestershire Standard: Sir Graham Brady, the chairman of the backbench 1922 Committee. Credit: PASir Graham Brady, the chairman of the backbench 1922 Committee. Credit: PA

Ahead of the vote, Downing Street said Boris Johnson “welcomes the opportunity to make his case to MPs”.

A No 10 spokesman added that Monday's vote was “a chance to end months of speculation and allow the Government to draw a line and move on”.

READ MORE: Sue Gray Report: Read the report in full about Boris Johnson party allegations

READ MORE: Vote of no confidence: Who is Sir Graham Brady?

The last vote of no confidence was against Theresa May in 2018.

Sir Graham Brady, chairman of the 1922 Committee, gathered MPs and journalists together to announce the result of the vote in a similar fashion to Monday evening.