Nominee's for the first ever virtual Citizen of the Year awards in Malmesbury have been announced.

Malmesbury Town Council will be celebrating members of the community for it's annual awards via Zoom, due to the coronavirus lockdown.

The council will be handing awards to those who, in the judgement of councillor’s, have made the most significant and sustained contribution to the local community in the past year.

There are five awards up for grabs on the night, including two new awards for Junior Citizen of the Year Award, sponsored by former mayor, Julie Exton and The Volunteer 10 Years Contribution Certificate.

Certificates will be awarded to individuals who are making a contribution to the community of Malmesbury and who have completed 10 years or more of voluntary service.

Each nominee will received a certificate signed by the mayor.

The other three awards are the Citizen of the Year, Young Citizen of the Year (the John Poole Cup) and Organisation/Group of the Year (the Paul Dove Trophy).

Nominees for Citizen of the Year are Jamie Johnstone, Art Robb, Graham Cook, Julie Taylor, Mike Rees, Gynnette Ranger, Andy Pointer, Deborah Clogg and Daphne Merritt.

George Davies is the sole nominee for Young Citizen of the Year.

Ben Thornbury and Louis Harvey have both been nominated for Junior Citizen of the Year.

Organisation/Group of the Year nominees include Malmesbury Community Choir, Malmesbury Boxing Club and Malmesbury WI.

And nominees for the Volunteer 10 Years Contribution Certificate include Athelstan Museum, Malmesbury Girl Guiding, Malmesbury Scouts, Malmesbury Abbey, Movies@Malmesbury, Malmesbury Youth Football Club, Malmesbury Luncheon Club and Malmesbury & Villages Community Partnership.

The awards announcements will take place on Thursday, starting at 7pm and will be shown live on Zoom - Meeting ID: 837 2342 7774. Password: 576846.