Cotswold District Council has confirmed its new cabinet and council leader after the Liberal Democrats gained control at the local election earlier this month.

Lib Dem councillor Joe Harris, 26, was appointed as council leader at a meeting yesterday as well as his eight cabinet members.

Voters turned away from the Tories as the party’s majority of 10 was wiped out on May 2, with eight wards won by the Liberal Democrat opponents.

The Lib Dems gained six seats from the Tories, as well as one Independent and a Green candidate – marking the first ever Green councillor on the district council.

Of the nine new cabinet members, five of them are new to the district council.

Wilts and Gloucestershire Standard:

These are the senior councillors who have taken on their new roles.

Joe Harris: Leader

Mike Evemy: Deputy leader and Finance

Rachel Coxcoon: Planning Policy, Climate Change and Environment

Tony Dale: Economic Development, Skills and Young People

Andrew Doherty: Waste, Flooding and Environmental Health

Jenny Forde: Health, Well-being and Public Safety

Mark Harris: Car Parks and Town & Parish Councils

Lisa Spivey: Housing and Homelessness

Clive Webster: Development Management, Landscape and Heritage

Speaking in the full council meeting, council leader Joe Harris said: “Our motto is ‘united we serve’ and together we can deliver on that promise.”