ROSS Moriarty will play his first match since the first British and Irish Lions Test in June when he returns for Gloucester against Leicester in the Anglo-Welsh Cup at Welford Road today.

Charlie Beckett will skipper the side that shows the strength of the Gloucester Rugby Academy which provides the majority of the squad.

There is significant experience in the starting line-up, with Moriarty in the back row after his long absence due to a back injury.

The squad also includes Andy Symons, Paddy McAllister, James Hanson, Gareth Denman and Gareth Evans.

In coaching terms, the team will be led this week by Head of Academy Richard Whiffin who admitted that he is excited by the prospect of kicking off the Anglo-Welsh Cup campaign at the home of the current defending champions.

"There are some young players playing at the weekend but there are also some experienced boys mixed in with that. I think it's good that, from an organizational point of view, that the club are willing to change the management around to allow us to get our teeth into the competition.

"We're all aligned in how we want to play. Johan's come in and wants to play an ambitious brand of rugby which I hope that, in the A League for example, we've shown as well. We want our team to have that DNA which Johan expresses.

"Both teams will have some talented players in there, whether they're looking for form or coming back from injury. There will be 15,000 to 20,000 there at Welford Road, it's a great opportunity for the younger players.

"They're the holders at home and we're expecting a strong team. Whatever the team, at Welford Road, it will be a challenge and the boys have certainly trained well for a few days and are up for it.”

Gloucester: 15. Carwyn Penny; 14. Tom Seabrook, 13. Andy Symons, 12. Tom Hudson, 11. Elliott Creed; 10. Lloyd Evans, 9. Ben Vellacott; 1. Paddy McAllister, 2. James Hanson, 3. Gareth Denman; 4. Charlie Beckett (capt), 5. Freddie Clarke; 6. Ross Moriarty, 7. Jake Polledri, 8. Gareth Evans Replacements: 16. Henry Walker 17. Cameron Orr, 18. Jack Bartlett, 19. Callum Allen, 20. Will Safe, 21. Callum Braley, 22. Charlie Chapman, 23. Reece Dunn