Cirencester Golf Club

Past Captains' Day

KICKING off a busy Holiday weekend, 64 members participated in the annual Past Captains' competition at Cirencester Golf Club.

Every year the club captain invites his predecessors to enter a four-man team in what is usually a closely fought contest.

This year in wet and windy conditions there were surprise winners in the youthful form of John Morris, Graham Morgan, Clive Bennett and Patrick Moylan, who posted a combined score of 104 points.

Runners-up on a gallant 99 points were the Pete Stone team of Paul Wragby, David Collett and Nicholas Brown. Third place on 98 points went to President Gordon Robbins' team on countback from Team Eric Varcoe.

Men's Monthly Medal

WEATHER conditions were far from ideal for the Gentlemen's May Medal.

With continuous driving rain and blustery windy conditions, it is remarkable that the golfing standard was so high.

Overall winner was Tom Waller who continued his excellent form by recording a majestic net 71 narrowly beating Darren Robison on countback.

Darren had the consolation of posting the best gross score on the day with an excellent 74. One point behind the leading pair was club captain Mark Woodhead securing third place on countback from Chris Nevin on 72.

Division Two was won by Graham Marshall with a brilliant net 67 net from Gavin Allen (69) and Paul Thompson (71).

Division Three went to the evergreen Godfrey (Geoff) Cottrell with a net 69.

This month's competition was also a qualifier for the County Medal which is to be held in July at Minchinhampton Golf Club. This year Cirencester will be represented by Graham Marshall and Gavin Allen.

Ron Card Tankards

The Ron Card Tankards is a Gentlemen's 18-hole bowmaker stableford competition.

The 2014 winners by a large margin on 87 points were Steve Bishop, Tony Francis and Gary Whiteman.

In second place with 82 points were the wily threesome of Andy Brereton, Chris Bruton and Terry Johnson, finishing two points clear of Martin Dyer, Martin Longdon and Fergus Patterson.