CRICKLADE RFC have held their annual end of season and awards dinner.

They were able to celebrate their promotion to Dorset & Wilts Division One North after a storming season that resulted in them finishing second in the league with a respectable nine-point lead over the third place team, Avonvale, and only 20 points behind runaway leaders Marlborough who won every fixture convincingly.

After a couple of setbacks in the early part of the season, Cricklade found their form and didn’t lose a match in the 2014 section of fixtures. Another reason for their celebrations was a record score of 100-14 in the final match of the season against Supermarine.

Six awards were made on the night:-

Captain's Trophy – Rhys Mills

Players' Player – Stuart Johnson

Coaches' Award (for most improved player) – Mitch Bryan.

Chairman’s Award – Callum Watkins

Presidents' Top Try Scorer Shield – Nathan Waite (23 tries)

Hall of Fame Inductee – Simon Howse

To round off the awards section of the evening, chairman Pete Clements congratulated all the playing members for their dedication to the club and their performances which secured the well deserved promotion.

He also thanked the coaching team of Andy Sear, Andrew 'Doc' Grayson and Paul Howse for stepping in at the start of the 2013/14 season with energy, dedication and skill.

He also warned that he expects even more success in 2014/15.