MINCHINHAMPTON New Course Seniors started the year with a change of leadership. Ron Barker took over the role of captain with Terry Dwight as vice. Steve Wood took over the running of the competitions, with Terry carrying out the role of match secretary.

Minchinhampton New Course

Seniors' Section

This year marks the 125th anniversary of the club, and to mark the start of the year the captains drive-off incorporated the captains of the Old Course with the captains of the New Course.

3 clubs and a putter

Div 1: 1, Chris Glynn (36pts); 2, Brian Hope (36 ocb); 3, Derek Bayliss (35).

Div 2: 1, Ray Peer (37pts); 2, John Pugh (36); 3, Tank Nash (36).

Texas Scramble

1, David Starkey, Martin Saunders, Graham Smith and Simon Read (net 55pts); 2, Angus Vockins, Peter Byron and Philip Carter (net 56); 3, Derek Bayliss, Roger Budgeon, Roy Bayliss and Norman Garrett (net 57).

February Stableford

1, Mike Blundell (41pts); 2, Malcolm Fuller (40); 3, Brian Hope (40 ocb).

March Stableford

1, Mil Petkovic (39pts); 2, John Laidlaw (39 ocb); 3, Andy Heron (38).

125th anniversary competition

First Leg (New Course)

1, John Fynn (41pts); 2, Howard Fletcher (41 ocb); 3, John Butcher (40).

Saltford 3.5

Minchinhampton 3.5

Peter Gaut and Ian Saner won their match 3&2; Roger Turley and Peter Morse won 4&3; Andy Heron and Ed Shellard won 3&2; Tony Pleass and Norman Garrett halved.

Minchinhampton 4.5

Worcestershire 3.5

Peter Gaut and Ron Barker won 5&3; David Harley and David Warden won 5&3; John Gravell and Graham Smith won 4&3; John Loosley and Graham Cleaver won 3&2; Keith Bullimore and Mil Petkovic halved.

Minchinhampton 2.5

Newbury and Crookham 3.5

Derek Bayliss and David Tonks won 4&2; Terry Dwight and Mike Barnes won 1 up; David Leeson and Maurice Fulton halved.

Spring Lunch

THE seniors Spring Lunch was held on March 26 and was well attended. The President of the club John Humphries was guest of honour with the secretary of the club Rob East, and the club pro Chris Steele also in attendance.

Two trophies were presented.

Winter Singles (knockout)

1, Terry Howsen; 2, Angus Vockins.

Winter Foursomes (knockout)

1, Bob Brown and Richard Morton; 2, John Fynn and David Warden.