CIRENCESTER AC and Triathlon Club enjoyed an excellent annual party and awards dinner at the Royal Agricultural University in Cirencester.

During a busy year for new chairman Pam Wheeler and the committee there were several successful social events, three record-breaking club races, a string of wins for CAC athletes and a growing club membership.

The awards were presented by Ellen Leggate, (nee O’Hare), who spoke of her time as a club junior, joining when she was 10 years old. Ellen won many national awards and also represented GB in the European U20 Championships.

Cirencester AC Awards.

Athlete of the Year: In her second year competing for the club, Jo Musk earned the award for her numerous race victories and for winning the Oxford Mail Cross Country series.

Road Race Champions: Adrian Williams, who is now also a successful triathlete, and the dedicated Fiona Collings.

Runners' Champions: David Moss, Barbara Thomas and Kate Fitton.

Cross Country Club Championships: Jo Musk (nee Emery), who ran in her first series for the club, and the multi-tasking Adrian Williams.

Veteran Athlete of the Year: Liza Darroch used her 65th birthday year to great effect by setting seven club age-group records.

Triathlete of the Year: Hard-working Sarah Gunn was recognised for her third place in the 2013 European Triathlon AG Championships.

Long Distance Runner of the Year: The club’s membership systems guru Andy Hindson, an avid ultra runner who won for his epic performance at the Trail du Mont Blanc.

Team of the Year: The key juniors coaching team who are successfully building the club’s future – Caroline Buck, Emily Buck, Martin Croucher, Andy Powell, Neil Marriot, Karen Ryland and James Widdowson.

Newcomer of the Year: Denis Galerin, newly arrived from Belgium, who represented CAC, winning a number of races for the club.

Most Improved Runner Award: Simon Campbell was nominated in many areas but his 30-minute improvement at the 2013 London Marathon gave him the prize.

Member of the Year: Martin Croucher gained deserved recognition for his numerous long distance races and his outstanding six years of dedicated leadership and coaching of the club juniors.