Literary awards give local pupils a chance to show off creative talents

Winners of the 2012 Soproptimist literary competition with organisers, headteachers, author Lynne Armstrong-Hobbs (back centre) and Cirencester mayor Andy Lichnowski (back right)

Year 5 and 6 winners on the podiums: 1st Archie Bretherton , Powell’s now at Marling, 2nd Maddy Law, Kemble, 3rd Hannah Braiden, Ann Edwards

Year 3 and 4 winners on podiums:1st in centre Hannah Jackson, Kemble, 2nd Isla Stannanaught, Sapperton, 3rd Sally Hull, Down Ampney

Year 1 and 2 winners: 1st prize Arywen Morris, Stratton, 2nd Bethan Jones, Powell’s, 3rd Joshua Parsons, Down Ampney

First published in News Wilts and Gloucestershire Standard: Photograph of the Author by

AWARD-winning young writers had their creative talents recognised at a special ceremony at Cirencester’s Royal Agricultural College attended by parents and local dignitaries.

Over 700 pupils from local primary schools entered the literary competition, which is now in its fourth year and is sponsored by the Cirencester & district Soroptimists.

The main purpose of the competition is to encourage children to use language in original and creative ways and entrants had several different titles to choose from.

In a nod to the Olympics, first, second and third winners in each age group were presented with gold, silver and bronze-coloured medals by local children’s author Lynne Armstrong-Hobbs.

Soroptimist co-organiser Linda Benatar said: “We were quite overwhelmed with the response this year and the standard was very good. There are always some children who absolutely shine.”

Year 5 and 6 winner was Archie Bretherton from Powell’s School (now at Marling), with Maddy Law (Kemble) placed second and Hannah Braiden (Ann Edwards) third. Grace Mansell, Chloe Marvell, Ryan Chestermen, Lilyana Goodier, Louis Hinds, Lottie Carpenter, and Sienna Ambler were highly commended.

Year 3 and 4 first prize went to Hannah Jackson from Kemble School, with second place awarded to Isla Stannanaught (Sapperton) and third prize scooped by Sally Hull (Down Ampney). Amelia Calvert and Willoughby Norrie were highly commended.

First prize for the younger age group of Years 1and 2 was awarded to Arywen Morris from Stratton School, with second prize going to Bethan Jones (Powell’s) and third prize going to Joshua Parsons (Down Ampney). Bessie Taylor, Charlie Mullock and Ellie Swadling were highly commended.

The school of the winning entry in each year group was given a shield to keep for a year, and Mrs Armstrong-Hobbs gave three of her own autographed books for the school’s library.


Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree